Skip to main content

The NanoScience Technology Center is proud to announce that three of its faculty members received the prestigious National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development (NSF CAREER) award in 2008. The CAREER recipients are Drs. Saiful Khondaker (joint Physics appointment), Andre Gesquiere (joint Chemistry appointment), and Lei Zhai (joint Chemistry appointment). This is a tremendous accomplishment for the three-year old NSTC. Only a few individuals are chosen each year for this award and it is highly unusual for so many to be awarded to a single center or department. As described in the NSF web site: “The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is a Foundation-wide activity that offers the National Science Foundation’s most prestigious awards in support of the early career-development activities of those teacher-scholars who most effectively integrate research and education within the context of the mission of their organization.”